Members recognised at Surf Life Saving Mid North Coast Awards of Excellence

Camden Haven Surf Life Saving Club (SLSC) has been named Club of the Year for the third year in a row at the Mid North Coast Newcastle Permanent Awards of Excellence.

The event was on Saturday, June 15 and celebrates outstanding members, and the impact they have on their clubs and local communities.

Camden Haven SLSC hosted the awards and a number of clubs from across the Mid North Coast attended including Macksville-Scotts Head SLSC, Kempsey-Crescent Head SLSC, South West Rocks SLSC, Hat Head SLSC, Tacking Point SLSC, Port Macquarie SLSC and Wauchope Bonny Hills SLSC.

Camden Haven SLSC vice president Ben Hosick was awarded Lifesaver of the Year and Jay Toogood was named Junior Lifesaver.

Ben congratulated every member of the surf club and said the club wouldn't be the same without them.

"Thank you to members for all your hard work over the season," he said.

Ben said the club has managed to achieve a lot over the past year, through its extensive involvement in community events such as King of the Mountain and Battle of the Seas.

Ben thanked committee members, including Sam Goryan for all her hard work in promotion of the club.

Camden Haven SLSC also won the Initiative of the Year award for inter-agency scenarios and training.

The club received the Community Education Program Award for its Charles Sturt University Paramedicine Bronze Medallion program.

Wauchope Bonny Hills SLSC also picked up a number of accolades.

Surf Sports Team of the Year went to the Under 19 Boatettes.

Elaine Walker was named as the Mid North Coast branch Masters Athlete of the Year.

What else is making news? 


Discuss "Surf awards for outstanding club achievements"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.